The first officially recognised maximum break was made by Joe Davis in a 1955. In 1982, Steve Davis achieved the first recognised maximum in professional competition. The following year, Cliff Thorburn became the first player to make a maximum at the World Snooker Championship.

Ronnie O’Sullivan holds the record for the most maximum breaks in professional competition, with 15. He also holds the record for the fastest competitive maximum break.